Need Your Help: Grant a Wish with a Click

I’m a very competitive person. 

I can’t help it.  Consider me the stereotypical first-born, type-A personality who just hates to lose.

Case in point: in grad school, it wasn’t enough for me to just get good grades in my classes.  Nope–there was another measure even more important.

You see, there was a certain young fellow I met in the graduate program–he was handsome, incredibly charming, and very funny.  It’s no surprise that I ended up falling in love with him…and marrying him a few years later.

But in the early days of our courtship, we would spend two nights a week sitting next to each other in class.  As it turns out, he also shares my love for competition, and it wasn’t long before some friendly wagers were going on between us.  Who could score the highest grade?  Who could earn the highest GPA?  Let the competition begin!

Truth is, these little competitions made me work harder…I studied more, paid more attention.  And as it turns out, it was one of our first “competitions” with each other that actually resulted in our first date.  (But that’s a whole other story!)

Competing for a cause…

Earlier this week, Make-A-Wish® Ohio, Kentucky & Indiana, one of my absolute favorite charities, contacted me and asked me for help.  They’re currently competing for a grant to win $125,000; they need help spreading the word and getting people to vote.

Here’s the scoop…

  • Make-A-Wish® Ohio, Kentucky & Indiana is a finalist in the LIDS Foundation annual “Tip the Hat Award” campaign where up to $125,000 will be awarded to the charity with the most online votes.
  • Voting takes place here and is open until Sunday February 15th 2015.

There are four other organizations competing for this money.  While it may seem odd to have charities compete against each other, just like the competition with my husband, I think this kind of contest creates a lot of positives.  Not only does it give these great organizations an opportunity to score substantial financial support, but it also gives them a new platform to inform more people about their cause.

Let me say that I believe that each of the competing charities serve an incredibly important mission and will do amazing things if they win the money. But…let me explain why I think you should take a moment to vote for Make-A-Wish®

As a wish granter, I’ve seen first hand the life-changing and magical results from Make-A-Wish®.  Last year I had the honor of helping to make two little kids’ wishes come true.  (You can read about their stories here and here.)

"Your wish has been granted!"

“Your wish has been granted!”

untitled-9200

Happy to help make “J’s” wish come true!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So I’m asking you to click this link, scroll to the bottom of the page, and vote for Make-A-Wish® Ohio, Kentucky & Indiana.  (You can only vote once, so this only takes a second of your time.)

Even better, we’d love for you to share this opportunity with your friends and family–asking them to vote in this campaign and helping Make-A-Wish® grant even more wishes this year.

There’s only a couple days left before the voting window closes  I’m hoping that if you’re reading this, that you’ll take a few seconds and vote now.

Tomorrow is Valentine’s Day…I can’t think of a better way to help spread the love.

P.S. If you’re not familiar with the organization, Make-A-Wish Ohio, Kentucky and Indiana grants the wishes of children with life-threatening medical conditions to enrich the human experience with hope, strength, and joy.

Currently, there are more than 170 children in central Ohio alone waiting for their wish to come true. You can help share the power of a wish® by voting today.

 

Leave a Reply

