Kindness Continues: A Wish for a Princess

It was the moment I had been waiting for.

With gifts in hand, my wish partner, Debbie, and I climbed the front steps and rang the door bell.  For several weeks I had been looking forward to THIS moment, to finally meeting a very special little girl.  For privacy reasons, I’ll simply call her “L”.

She’s five years old…she loves princesses…and she has a genetic heart defect.

At any moment, her little heart could go into cardiac arrest–it’s a thought that instantly breaks mine.

As a wish granter for the Make-A-Wish organization, I get to be part of a very magical moment…I get the honor to meet this little girl and ask her a very important question: what’s your wish?

L was my first assignment…and I was ready for the magic to begin.

Her mom greeted us at the door and welcomed us inside.  I looked into the living room, and there she was…wearing a tutu.

Interested in being a wish granter?  I guanantee it will be one of the most rewarding experiences!  Here are the 3 responsibilities of being a wish granter:  #1: meet with the wish child and family to complete paper work and find out what the child wishes.  #2: stay in touch with the family until the wish is granted.  Check in with them at least once a month and every 3 months, send a small gift to the child to let them know that you're thinking about them.  #3: host a "wish party" to reveal their wish.

Interested in being a wish granter? I guarantee it will be one of the most rewarding experiences! Here are the 3 responsibilities of being a wish granter: #1: meet with the wish child and family to complete paper work and find out what the child wishes. #2: stay in touch with the family until the wish is granted. Check in with them at least once a month and every 3 months, send a small gift to the child to let them know that you’re thinking about them. #3: host a “wish party” to reveal their wish.

Debbie and I sat down on the couch and spent some time just getting to know L and the rest of her family–her mom, dad, and 11 month old baby sister.

We were warned that L is shy around new people; luckily, our presents were a great ice breaker.  Her eyes lit up with excitement: the princess doll and wand were a hit.  And like any big sister, she was just as happy to see the stuffed animal for her little sis.

We started with some basic questions: what’s your favorite food?  Restaurant?  Color?

After each question, I couldn’t help but smile.  L would look at her mom, put her hand over her mouth, and quietly whisper her answer, hesitant to talk to us directly.  And each time her mom would gently encourage her to tell us.

After a few minutes, it was finally time.

“Do you know why we’re here?  We need to ask you a very important question…what’s your wish?”

During the wish training, I was given some tips on helping kids figure out their wish–asking them what they’d like to be, who they’d like to meet, where they’d like to go, or what they’d like to do?

But L didn’t need help–she knew exactly what she wanted.

Again, we watched as she leaned in close to her mom, whispering her answer.  Her mom smiled at her and said, “Go ahead, honey…tell them.”

“I want to meet the princesses.”

Hearing her sweet little voice tell us her secret wish–it was a moment I’ll never forget.

L warmed up to us and started telling us more. Turns out she had two princesses in particular that are on her must-see list: Anna and Elsa.

Like most kids (and let’s face it, many adults, myself included), L has become fascinated with the movie Frozen.  Thanks to my kids, I have watched it probably 100 times over the past few weeks.

I love that the story has a surprise ending and important lesson: true love doesn’t always come from a prince…sometimes, the strongest love can come from your family.

Sitting in the room with L, I couldn’t help but think how fitting it is that she wants to meet the Frozen princesses…after all, it’s easy to see that her family is the definition of true love.

By the end of our visit, L warmed up to us and transformed into “Princess L”….showing us all of her princess costumes and even dancing around the living room.

There were hugs from everyone as Debbie and I left.  It was time for us to make a wish come true.

When I signed up to be a wish-granter for Make-A-Wish, I had one big concern: crying.  I’m a crier by nature, and an ugly one at that–I can’t help it.  I was worried that meeting the wish kids and their families that I wouldn’t be able to control my tears.  But here’s the funny thing…it wasn’t like that at all.  It wasn’t sad meeting L…it was a happy time.  We smiled, we laughed, we talked about wishes.  In that moment, I didn’t feel sad…I felt honored.  I considered it to be an absolute privilege to be able to meet L and to be a part of bringing magic to her world.  No, it wasn’t sad at all….it. was. awesome.

So what’s next?

Soon after we met L, Debbie and I received great news from the Make-A-Wish team—L’s wish was granted!  Her and her family are going to Disney World and are going to get some QT with Anna and Elsa later this spring.

But there is a third act to this story still to come…and it is going to be incredible.

L doesn’t know that her wish has been granted yet.  Later this month Debbie and I are going to meet Princess L again–we’re throwing her a party!  As a wish-granter, we get to throw a party to reveal the wish and give her all the details about her trip.

We have some very special surprises up our sleeve for L.  And I have a feeling that this time, the waterworks may indeed make a showing…but they won’t be tears of sadness.  No, I have a feeling that there will be many tears of joy coming soon for all of us.

So stay tuned…the last chapter of this story is going to be the best.

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Kindness Continues: A Wish for a Princess

  1. I’m looking so forward to hearing the rest of the story. I’ve always wondered how Make A Wish works and this is a wonderful illustration. Pack some hankies and let those tears flow. It’s all good.

  2. Pingback: A Real Happily Ever After and Why I’ll Never “Let it Go” | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

