2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #5…My Ticket for Inspiration

It’s Black Friday and we just couldn’t resist.  In the late afternoon, I piled in a van with my husband’s aunts and cousins for our all-girl shopping adventure. I had several things I was hunting for…including an opportunity to complete my act of kindness. Walking through the stores, I kept watching, searching, hoping that someone or something would jump out at me.  I was looking for inspiration, some kind of sign to tell me who I should help. And eventually it came. We were sitting in the food court at the mall, making a quick pit stop to re-fuel and figure out where we wanted to go next…and then I got my sign.

The train at the mall can instantly put smiles on kids' faces...tonight I'm hoping it did just that for two little girls in particular.

The train at the mall can instantly put smiles on kids’ faces…tonight I’m hoping it did just that for two little girls in particular.

Actually it was a whistle…a train whistle to be precise. At the mall, there’s a small train that gives kids rides–it basically goes in a big circle and passes all the stores in the upper level…and it also passes the food court.

Just as it chugged past us, it blew its whistle….and I took that as my sign.

One of the cousins went with me to the “train station” so we could buy a couple of tickets.

We walked back to the food court…and then was the fun part!  We looked at all the tables, trying to find the perfect family to surprise.

We didn’t have to look too far.  Seated at the table right next to ours was a woman with two of the cutest little girls I’ve ever seen.  They were sitting quietly eating their dinner and I couldn’t help but smile as I walked up to where they were sitting.

“Excuse me–I don’t mean to bother you, but I was just wondering if I could treat your girls to a train ride–it would be my pleasure.”

The mom looked me in the eyes and nodded with a smile as I handed her two tickets.

“Would you like that girls?  You’ll have to be really good and eat your dinner.”

The two little ones, probably four or five years old, quickly nodded yes with excitement beaming in their eyes.

As a mom, I have a soft spot in my heart for kids…especially around Christmas.  I was so happy that tonight I not only was able to help two little girls have some unexpected fun, but I was also able help a mom provide some extra incentive for them to behave at dinner.

It may have been “Black Friday”, but to me tonight was anything but black…it was magical, fun, and put me in the Christmas spirit.

I think I had just as much fun completing this act of kindness as the kids who got to ride!

I think I had just as much fun completing this act of kindness as the kids who got to ride!

2 thoughts on “2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #5…My Ticket for Inspiration

  1. I personally know how much those train rides mean to little people – still take a special 31 year old to ride the train each year, Steve and I running close beside it the whole way and smiling the entire time! Another great inspiring idea – LU

  2. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

