2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #2…Joe Pesci vs the Happy Hookers

You’re not you when you’re hungry…

There’s a series of Snicker’s commercials that I absolutely love.  Take this one with Joe Pesci for example–it cracks me up every time I see it.  At a party, he’s trying to get to know some girls, but the conversation doesn’t go well…at all.  Why?  Simple: he’s hungry…and like Snicker’s explains, “you’re not you when you’re hungry.”

You're not you when you're hungry.

You’re not you when you’re hungry.

I think these commercials are genius because they’re so true.  I admit it, when my stomach growls I pretty much turn into a female version of Joe Pesci…and it’s not pretty.

With Thanksgiving quickly approaching, food has been on my mind.  Actually it’s been the main topic of discussion in my house for the past week.  For the first time, my husband and I are hosting a large group of our family for Thanksgiving dinner and we’ve been busy trying to get everything ready.  How many turkeys do we need?  Will two be enough?  Have you ordered the ham yet?  How many pies do you think we should have?  Cakes?  What about side dishes?

The truck arrived packed with food.

The truck arrived packed with food.

And while it’s been an overly complicated process to get this figured out, it’s really hard for me to imagine that somewhere in my area there’s a family whose Thanksgiving Day planning conversation has a whole set of different complications.  Like where are we going to get food?  And will we have enough?

I called the food bank last week and offered to volunteer.  When the director told me what was planned, I knew I wanted to be a part of it.  They were organizing a mobile food distribution…of all places, in my hometown.  They needed volunteers to unpack the food and help people pick up what they needed.  This was a chance for me to give back to my childhood community.

Meeting the Happy Hookers…

I arrived early and was instantly greeted by an elderly woman; she was holding a small piece of paper with a number on it and was waiting for the food truck to arrive.

“Hi…I’m Mary, I’m a “happy hooker!”

Um, what?

The Director of the center overheard and came over to explain.  Mary and her friends started a crocheting group and decided to name themselves “the Happy Hookers” .  (Get it?  Crocheting…”hookers”.)

I talked to Mary for a few minutes and was basically in awe.  Not only do these women obviously have healthy sense of humors, but they also have incredible hearts.  While they don’t have enough money for all the groceries they need, they give back the best way they know how: they get together and crochet hats and blankets and donate them to the hospital’s maternity ward.  Yep–these are the people that I am so honored to help.

Happy to serve.

Happy to serve.

After a few minutes, more “Happy Hookers” showed up and sat down with Mary.  I couldn’t help but smile.  Sitting at a table were six women, likely in their seventies; they were laughing, telling jokes, hugging each other: a bunch of happy hookers.

Once the truck arrived, the volunteers headed out and we started unloading.  We pre-filled bags with apples, carrots, squash, eggs, bread, and more.  There were eight volunteers and for over two hours we worked side by side, laughing with each other, and eager to make someone’s holiday a little brighter.

I had an a-ha moment afterwards.  I realize that I’m often guilty of not appreciating the food that I have.  I’ll open my fridge and pantry and complain that I don’t have anything to eat–even when the shelves are full.  Yep, at times I can be a grouchy Joe Pesci when actually…(I can’t believe I’m writing these words….) I should strive to be a Happy Hooker.

Coming home, I looked at my kitchen differently–I was so grateful.

I have a feeling when I’m sitting down with my family for our Thanksgiving dinner, I’ll be thinking about the “Happy Hookers” and the other people I met today–hoping they are also celebrating the holiday and enjoying a good meal.

“You’re not you when you’re hungry.”  After working for two hours,  I was so thankful that I was able to be a part in stocking the pantries for over 150 people.

Fresh produce, grains, and even some fun desserts were on the menu.

Fresh produce, grains, and even some fun desserts were on the menu.

We packed over 300 bags of groceries, feeding over 150 people.

We packed over 300 bags of groceries, feeding over 150 people.

4 thoughts on “2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #2…Joe Pesci vs the Happy Hookers

  1. Well, this is a first…..I’m so proud of my hooker daughter! I believe we’ll all look at our Thanksgiving dinners and pantries in a whole new light, and be thankful, REALLY thankful for what we have. Thank You Kelly. LU

  2. Pingback: 2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #9…Can Marketing Make a Difference? | Measured in Moments

  3. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

  4. Pingback: 2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #15…Surviving the Waiting Game | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

