Kindness Continues: I Am Loved

There’s a blog site that I absolutely love to read called, “My Life and Kids“.  I swear, no matter how bad of a day I may be having, I’m normally laughing out loud by the time I finish reading Anna’s post.  Seriously, I dare you to read a few and not crack up.  Like this one.  Or this one.  I could spend hours reading her site.

But in one of her posts, I not only found laughter…I found inspiration.

She recently teamed up with Helzburg Diamonds to help them on their latest “I am Loved” campaign focused two of my favorite things: love and helping kids.  Helzburg has a new promotion–just by going to their website and sharing your love story, they’ll spread the love with a $1 donation to the Make-a-Wish Foundation–up to $5,000 each month July 1st through December 31st 2013.  (This is yet another reason why Helzburg is my favorite jewelry store.)  So my favorite blogger issued a simple challenge: go to the site, write a short message and make wishes come true for thousands of kids.

Challenge accepted.

As I tried to decide which “love story” I wanted to share about my husband and I, I couldn’t help but think back to our wedding reception.  We decided to do something kind of unique–at each table we wrote a few paragraphs, detailing a different story of our time together.  The fun part: we tied each story to a movie.  (Because in my mind, Kate and Leo have nothing on Kelly and Mike!)

Let me give you some examples…

  • At the When Harry Met Sally table, guests read about “when Mike met Kelly”.
  • Our friends and family at the 50 First Dates table, found out about a few of our favorite dates together…like the time when Mike ended up serenading me, microphone and all, at a jazz club.
  • Romeo and Juliet = the rivalry of our colleges: Ohio University vs. Miami University (Go, Miami!)
  • A Walk to Remember was the story of how Mike proposed.
  • Say Anything was about the time when Mike showed up in my front yard with a boom box proclaiming his love.  Just kidding!  It was really about the first time Mike called me on the phone.  (He thought it would be funny to pretend to be a telemarketer to break the ice.  Within seconds, I hung up not knowing it was him.)
  • Meet the Parents shared the story of the first time when Mike met my mom and step-dad…and accidentally spilled an entire beer on me in the process. (This one still makes me laugh.)

You get the idea.

We had 20 tables, 20 stories.  And while the idea was admittedly a bit cheesy (and my husband was not originally a huge fan),  I loved  it.  On the first day in our life together, my husband and I were able to share 20 of our special memories that got us to that day.

The best part?  We took each of the stories and put them in a book, creating one of my all-time favorite keepsakes from our wedding.  I still love flipping through the pages, reliving each one of the memories.

My favorite little scrapbook with pages filled with my "love story" with my husband.

My favorite little scrapbook with pages filled with my “love story” with my husband.

I love the story of when "Mike met Kelly".  The hubs and I went to high school together, lived around the corner from each other and even rode the same bus; we never talked.  Nearly 10 years later, we "re-met" in grad school and the rest is history.

I love the story of when “Mike met Kelly”. The hubs and I went to high school together, lived around the corner from each other and even rode the same bus; we never talked. Nearly 10 years later, we “re-met” in grad school and the rest is history.

Now back to my “I am Loved” challenge…it was actually easier than I thought.  Once on the website, you only need to complete one little sentence, “I feel special when…”

So I typed in the first response that came to my mind: “my husband dips me when he gives me a kiss.

And that was it.  Within a matter of seconds, just by typing in 10 little words, I added $1 donation to the Make-a-Wish foundation.  You can post one message each day–each one adding another dollar to the donation total.

So what’s the morale of this “story”?  Kindness doesn’t have to cost you money.  It doesn’t have to take a lot of time. And with just a few seconds, you’re able to give a fairytale memory to a little kid who really deserves it.

So now I’m issuing you the same challenge: go to the site, write a short message and make wishes come true for thousands of kids.

Share one of your love stories, one of your “happily ever after” moments…and you’ll be able to give a child an unforgettable moment too.

4 thoughts on “Kindness Continues: I Am Loved

  1. That was quick! I feel special when my husband brings me breakfast in bed…every morning!
    Thanks for giving us all a great idea to enrich little people’s lives.
    LU

  2. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

  3. Pingback: 2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #11…A Bear of a Day | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

