Kelly Takes On: A Year of New Adventures

What’s next?

I love January.  Yes, it’s cold.  Yes, my relaxing vacation days that I enjoyed over the holidays are over.  But to me, January means something very special.  You get a fresh start.  Slates are wiped clean.  It’s a chance to begin again and think about what you want to accomplish over the next 12 months.  And that’s exactly what I’ve been doing.

"If it was easy, everyone would do it...it's the hard that makes it great." -A League of Their Own. Finishing a marathon was definitely one of the hardest things I've attempted, but it was also one of the greatest.

If it was easy, everyone would do it…it’s the hard that makes it great.” -A League of Their Own. Finishing a marathon was definitely one of the hardest things I’ve attempted, but it was also one of the greatest

Last year on New Year’s Eve, I decided to take on something that at the time seemed completely impossible: I signed up to run a marathon.  I had always dreamed of completing one, but was never sure I’d be able to actually finish.  But here’s the thing…I did.  Granted it took me nearly five and a half hours, but I crossed the finish line.  And in doing so, I was able to cross something else as well…an item off my bucket list.  A pretty amazing feeling to do.

2012 was a very good year for me…I actually crossed off two major bucket list items: completing a marathon and seeing Paris.  The second was much more relaxing and involved a lot more wine and food, but both were incredible.

See the Mona Lisa...check!  Loved being able to cross this off my bucket list!

See the Mona Lisa…check! Loved being able to cross this off my bucket list!

My “ah-ha” moment…

While I’m a big believer in them, I do have a problem with bucket lists…at least mine, anyways.  My list is filled with my biggest dreams…the places I want to see, goals I want to accomplish: Write a novel, do the hula in Hawaii, learn to speak a new language, ride in a gondola in Italy, visit Australia ….my list goes on and on.

I have no doubt that one day, I will cross off every single one of them.  My problem?  It very well may take me my entire life to do it!  They’re so big, so grand that they’re going to take a lot of time and money to complete.  And with a full time job and two little people, hopping on a plane to Italy isn’t in the cards for me just yet.

And that’s when I had my “ah-ha” moment.

I started thinking about all the “little” things that I haven’t done yet…things that while may be on a much smaller scale, are still things that I want to experience in my lifetime.  And with that, I made my New Year’s resolution: to try new things that I never thought I would…to live more…to see more, experience more.  So I sat down and made a whole new list…a “mini” bucket list per se, filled with simple, yet fun experiences that I want to have.

This year I’ll be taking on a new adventure (or more) every month and writing about my experiences along the way.  There’s a saying, “life is not a spectator sport“.  I couldn’t agree more.  I am so excited about this year…a year that will no doubt be filled with incredible memories, lots of laughs and unforgettable moments.

So, here’s to a new year filled with lots of new adventures!

6 thoughts on “Kelly Takes On: A Year of New Adventures

  1. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: A Bite On The Wild Side « Measured in Moments

  2. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: My Family Tree–Part I | Measured in Moments

  3. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: Zipping Through the Air With the Greatest of Ease…Or Not. | Measured in Moments

  4. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: Going Over the Edge for Kindness | Measured in Moments

  5. Pingback: Five Things I Learned by Going “Over the Edge” | Measured in Moments

  6. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: Dr. Seuss and Walt Disney in Paris | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

