30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #27…Surprising St. Nick

“You better watch out…you better not cry…you better not pout, I’m telling you why…Santa Claus is coming to town.”  Over the past month, I have probably heard these words a million times from my daughter.  This is the first year my three year old has really understood Christmas and for weeks now her mind has been solely focused on everything about it.  Singing carols, reading stories of Rudolf, looking at the lights on all the houses…watching her with wide-eyed excitement has reminded me just how magical Christmas really is.

And to my daughter, this magic can be summed up with one word: Santa.

So today I embraced my inner child.  After all, while Christmas is about generosity and helping others, it’s also about something else: fun!  And I was going to have some today with my act of kindness.

I headed to the mall and walked to the center atrium.  And there he was…the big guy himself.  Perched on a large chair, Santa was sitting listening carefully to the wishes of countless little ones.  I walked to the side and talked with one of his elves, checking to make sure they were okay with my plan.  Once I was given the green light, I went to the back of the line and waited.

Then it was my turn.

I think he was initially confused when he saw me walk up to him alone..I’m guessing he doesn’t have many thirty-something woman paying him visits.   But he flashed me a giant smile and said those famous words,  “Ho, ho, ho…merry Christmas!”

I stood next to him and started explaining.  I quickly told him about my 30 Day Christmas Challenge…about my little girl..and about  how I believe everyone needs some Christmas magic.  Even Santa Claus.

He sat quietly listening.  With a twinkle in his eye, he watched as I handed him a gift card.  Yes, today my act of kindness was to thank Santa…the man who symbolizes generosity, being “nice” and yes…magic. After years of leaving me presents under my Christmas tree, it was fun to return the favor and this time surprise him!

Bringing some Christmas magic to Santa!

Bringing some Christmas magic to Santa!

One thought on “30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #27…Surprising St. Nick

  1. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

