30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #23…Coffee in the Cold

There are some acts of kindness that I’ve planned out ahead of time, knowing what I’m going to do before my feet even hit the floor getting out of my bed in the morning.  And then there are days like today…when I don’t know what I’ll do, what will inspire me or what opportunity for kindness will come my way.  I woke up today and went to work, not having a plan or an idea of what I could do, who I could help.  But this is one thing I’ve learned about kindness…once you start looking for it, once you start thinking about it, you’ll find ways to give.

When I went to lunch today it was raining…not hard, but enough to make me quickly walk to my car and hurry inside.  I had some errands to run on my lunch hour and started reviewing my to-do list in my head as I was driving.  My wipers swayed back and forth on my windshield as I went down the highway.  And in that moment of seeing the rain drops hit my car, I added one more item to my to-do list…I knew what I wanted to do to help someone.

My company recently moved to a new office space and there’s still a lot of construction going on in the area.  I thought about the team of construction workers–outside all day in the cold, in this rain.   I wanted to surprise them with something simple, yet something that I had a feeling would be very appreciated: hot coffee!

But this is when my story takes an “expected turn”…literally!

The construction is happening on a busy road so when I got close and saw the team working, I turned my car and pulled off to the side.  Only it turns out it wasn’t the side of the road at all.  I must have been so excited about surprising the team that I didn’t realize that I had actually turned on to an exit ramp of the highway…going the wrong direction!  (Please hold your jokes about my terrible driving!)  There I was, my car now facing backwards on a busy exit ramp…and I started to panic.  A few of the workers started running to my car, “Ma’am, do you need help?”  I love this…I was there to help them, but they were offering help to me.

I turned on my hazard lights and hopped out of my car.  I quickly explained that I didn’t realize I had turned on an exit ramp, that I just wanted to give them some hot coffee on a cold day.  Their faces lit up!  “Are you serious?  Wow–thank you!!!

Taking a quick picture from my car...notice the "One-Way" sign...unfortunately I didn't see this until it was too late!

Taking a quick picture of a few of the workers from my car…notice the “One Way” sign.  Unfortunately I didn’t see this until it was too late!

I got back in my car.  Luckily no cars were coming up the ramp so I did a quick U-turn and started to drive away.  I looked back and a swarm of men were now around my tub of coffee.  On a cold day, it was a sight that warmed my heart.

One thought on “30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #23…Coffee in the Cold

  1. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

