30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #14…Can I Take Your Order, Please

It’s Saturday night and I’m exhausted.  Going on about 4 hours of sleep, I’m rushing around like a crazy woman trying to get things ready for a small holiday party that I’m hosting.  My house looks like a bomb has exploded, I haven’t showered, decorations aren’t up, food isn’t ready.  With so much to do, there was one thing that I knew I didn’t have time for…food.   However, I was hungry and I knew the night was going to be enjoyed with several glasses of my famous grown-up punch.  So, what’s a girl to do?  Unfortunately the answer was one that I wasn’t thrilled with…fast food.

I drove up to the Wendy’s drive thru and placed my order.  “Please pull up to the first window,” the worker instructed.

Somewhere between those words and rolling down my window to pay, I tried to remind myself what this time of year was all about.  My friends weren’t going to care if something was out of place, or my Christmas decorations weren’t perfect.  Tonight was supposed to be about fun, laughter, friendship, memories…it was about Christmas.  So I decided to get myself out of the stressful funk and back in the Christmas spirit.

“I’d like to pay for the car behind me as well…whatever they ordered, please add it to my bill.”  I know this is something that others have done, but it was the first time for me.  The cashier flashed me a huge smile.  “They ordered 2 small cheeseburgers…it’s $2.99.”

I pulled up to the next window to wait for my food and my eyes couldn’t resist looking in my rear-view mirror.  An SUV pulled up behind me–it looked like a mom with 2 little ones in the back seat.  I saw her arm reach out of her car with a credit card, ready to pay.  Now I was the one who was smiling.  The arm just stayed there, reaching out to the cashier.  I watched as the cashier explained that her bill had been paid for…and it looked like it took a couple of times for the woman to understand.  Then her arm changed directions.  The woman looked straight ahead at me and waved her hand outside of her car as a thank you.  I reached my arm outside my car and waved back as I drove away.

Funny thing about giving…even when it’s something small, it can completely change your mood.  Two cheeseburgers somehow changed me from being stressed and tense to relaxed, happy and in the Christmas spirit.

One thought on “30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #14…Can I Take Your Order, Please

  1. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

