30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #3…A Special Delivery

For the love of family…and food!

While admittedly I’m biased, I do honestly believe that I have the world’s best grandma.  Let me tell you just a little bit about her.  She’s 83 years old, but has more energy than I do on most days…I swear, this woman never sits down.  There are two things that instantly come to my mind when I think of her…number one: complete and unconditional love for her family and number two: food.  And most of the time, these two things go hand in hand.

Grandma is definitely the “mother hen” of our family.  Without question, I know she would do anything for any one of us…and I mean anything.  I have literally seen her wrestle a grown man to ground when he made fun of my handicapped sister.  True story.  The woman is no limit when it comes to her 5  kids, 11 grandkids, 14 great-grandkids or 1 great, great grandchild.

And what’s her favorite way to show her love?  One word: food.  When I was in college, she used to make me homemade frozen meals–complete with labels and heating instructions.  When I was pregnant with my daughter, I made one passing comment to her that I loved her vegetable beef soup.  Less than 24 hours later, there she was…sitting in my driveway, waiting for me to get home from work so she could give me what looked like a 50 gallon tub of her soup.  She stayed up all night making it for me.  That is my grandma.  But her desire to feed the world goes beyond just our family.  How many people do you know who bake cookies for the manager and staff at their favorite restaurant?  My grandma does…on a fairly regular basis.

When it comes to my grandma, let’s just say that she’s the happiest when she’s doing something to help others.  Which is why I wanted to do something special for her.

Life is short…

Over the past year, my grandma has changed.  Her memory is slipping…a lot.  This is very hard for me and my family to accept.  It’s a very visible reminder of the obvious…my grandma is getting old.  She is so much more than a grandma to me…she’s my 2nd mother, my role model, my friend.  And just the thought that one day I might not have her brings me to instantly to tears.  As the cliche says, life is short.  We don’t know how much time we have with the ones we love–so we can’t afford to wait to show them how much they mean to us.

2012-11-29_16-49-13_684

I love that I was the one who put this smile on her face!

So it was time for my grandma to get a little surprise.  At 3 pm, she calls me at work…”I can’t believe you did that!!!  What in the world did I do to deserve such a surprise?!”  I loved it…she got her flowers.  It was a very simple gesture–a bouquet of nearly 40 roses delivered to the woman who I love, respect and adore with my entire heart.  The card had a short message: For no other reason but to brighten your day and tell you how much I love you.  Over the years she did so much for me…yet she wanted to know what she did to deserve her special delivery.  Besides generous, I think I should add that she’s also extremely humble.

“You didn’t need to do that!”  She said this over and over.  And my reply made me so happy to say…“I know I didn’t NEED to…I WANTED to.”

There’s absolutely no way I’ll ever be able to explain to her just how much I love her…or repay her for all she’s given to me.  I feel so incredibly lucky to be her granddaughter…and knowing that I was able to make her smile, made my day.

8 thoughts on “30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #3…A Special Delivery

  1. Oh my!!! Happy tears steaming down my face!!! Our grandma is by far the most incredible woman on earth!!! And to know that you did this for her, made me so happy to know that you gave her such a wonderful surprise!!!

  2. Pingback: 30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #20…Light in the Time of Darkness « Measured in Moments

  3. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: My Family Tree–Part I | Measured in Moments

  4. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: My Family Tree–Part II…A Lovely Revelation | Measured in Moments

  5. Pingback: Kelly Takes On: My Family Tree–Part III…A Road Trip Down Memory Lane | Measured in Moments

  6. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

  7. Pingback: 2013 Christmas Challenge: Day #30…Santa for the Young at Heart | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

