30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #2…Keeping it Simple

Life happened…

Completely inspired and excited to take on my 30 day challenge, I couldn’t wait to get started.  But then life happened.  It was only day #2 and already I was scrambling.  My work day was crazy and on top of that we had an out-of-town friend coming in to stay with us for a couple of days.  This meant that I needed to spend my lunch hour trying to put a dent in the mess that had taken over my house from the Thanksgiving holiday.  Before I knew it, I was sitting at my desk and looked up at the clock–5:00.  Where had the day gone?  It was time to leave and I hadn’t had time to do my act of kindness…I didn’t even have a plan.

But this is what I love about my challenge.

If I didn’t give myself this challenge, here’s what would have happened.  I would have left work, picked up my kids, got home, helped Mike cook dinner (by help, I mean watch), eaten dinner with our friend and played with our little people before heading to bed.  It would have been a day just like every other day.

But because of my challenge…this day was going to be different.

Giving doesn’t have to be complicated–keeping it simple can work just as well

I realized that:

a) I didn’t need to have some elaborate plan

b) I didn’t need a great deal of time to do something nice for someone else

So I started thinking…what could I do?  I came up with an idea…

But let me rewind just a bit…

I love my neighborhood.  On holidays we have big parties–outdoor movies, bonfires, face painting for the kids.  The women get together for dinner/drinks/movies/parties.  Everyone knows everyone.  We’ve lived here for over 4 years and have become friends with most of the families.  But for whatever reason, there was one woman that I never really had the chance to talk to.

A few weeks ago she invited most of the neighbors over for a casual get-together.  I almost didn’t go…it was late, I was exhausted and I barely knew her.  But I’m so glad I did.  It was the first time I talked to her…and she was so nice!  She was beginning to run and was asking me for tips and advice since I finished my first marathon earlier in the year.

So while Mike was cooking dinner, I decided to take the opportunity to let this woman know that I was thinking about her and really appreciated that she had me over.  I had cream that is supposed to work miracles on sore muscles–luckily I didn’t need it during my marathon training, but this woman mentioned that she was suffering from really painful shin splints.  Voila!  I took the cream along with a short note and put it in her mailbox.  Within minutes, I had an e-mail from her…

“Thank you! Thank you! Cant wait to try it -exercise tomorrow! Thank you for thinking of me!”

Success.  It was simple.  It took me less than 2 minutes, but it made me feel great…and I think I was able to make someone else feel special.  And that’s what my challenge was all about.  Taking an ordinary day and finding ways to make it remarkable.

One thought on “30 Day Christmas Challenge: Day #2…Keeping it Simple

  1. Pingback: Ideas and Inspiration for Acts of Kindness | Measured in Moments

Leave a Reply

